top of page

Long Way To Go Vinyl 180g (05/2023)

< Back | Next >
LWTG Produkt Vinyl.png
25.00 € plus Shipping incl. Download Code
Also available as Audio CDFan Edition and MP3!
More Vinyl:
MOM Cover Square.jpg
Best Of Front.jpg
TC Vinyl Front.jpg
PONR Vinyl Front.jpg

Seven albums and an extensive Best Of compilation in just under five years. This is the output of Kassel blues rock guitarist Andreas Diehlmann, which is well worth listening to. Now, six years after his debut, his eighth album will be released in early May. Quantity doesn't always have to equal quality, but it's fundamentally different with Diehlmann, and it wasn't for nothing that he received the "German Blues Award" last year.

On the current album, too, the guitarist and his two comrades-in-arms Jörg Sebald (bass) and Tom Bonn (drums) present themselves as an outstandingly well-rehearsed power trio. A dusty-sounding dobro opens the album, but after a short, relaxed intro, Diehlmann and his Fellow musicians on "Long Way To Go" working title "Redemption" clear: There will be no redemption in a positive sense during the next ten songs. The listener will be captivated in the following 40 minutes and remain in the hands of the Andreas Diehlmann Band throughout all the songs.

Sometimes the band seems conventional. "Pretty Baby" is a straight forward boogie number. But what sounds random at first is by no means so, because the band also plays big with these numbers, is gripping and gets to the point. On "Bad Luck" Hammond organist Tom Bornemann supports the band, which as a quartet creates the best relaxed but powerful southern rock feeling. Appropriately, as with all other numbers, Diehlmann's grater voice.

Straightforward and forward-thinking are numbers like "Way To Hell" and "Wedding Dress," which could easily be hits by the long-bearded Texas trio. Here, too, the band proves not to be a cheap copy, but equal.

“Broken”, a classic blues-rock ballad, offers great, emotional cinema, in which Bornemann weaves a tapestry of sound with the B3, on which Diehlmann takes off with a breathtaking solo. The result, a number with goosebump potential.

Enchanting, the classic slow blues "Baby It's Gonna Rain All Night", in which Diehlmann plays wonderful blue notes over the warm Hammond-B3 sound carpet and Tom Bornemann also shows all his skills with a solo. Yes, you've heard something like that before, but rarely as good as here!(Uwe Meyer)

Andreas Diehlmann- Vocals/Guitars

Tom Bonn- Drums

Jorg Sebald- Bass

Tom Borneman- Organ

Total playing time 39:11

bottom of page

top of page

Long Way To Go Vinyl 180g (05/2023)

< Zurück | Weiter >
LWTG Produkt Vinyl.png
25 € zzgl. Versand Inkl. MP3 Download Code
Auch als Audio CDFan Edition und MP3 erhältlich!
Mehr Vinyl
MOM Cover Square.jpg
Best Of Front.jpg
TC Vinyl Front.jpg
PONR Vinyl Front.jpg

Sieben Alben und eine umfangreiche Best Of - Compilation in knapp fünf Jahren. Das ist der hörenswerte Output des Kasseler Blues-Rock-Gitarristen Andreas Diehlmann. Jetzt, sechs Jahre nach dem Debüt, erscheint Anfang Mai sein achtes Album. Quantität muss ja nicht immer gleich Qualität sein, bei Diehlmann ist das jedoch grundlegend anders, und so wurde er im letzten Jahr nicht umsonst mit dem „German Blues Award“ ausgezeichnet.

Auch auf dem aktuellen Album stellen sich der Gitarrist und seine beiden Mitstreiter Jörg Sebald (Bass) und Tom Bonn (Drums) als überragend eingespieltes Power-Trio dar. Eine staubig klingende Dobro eröffnet das Album, doch nach kurzem, entspanntem Intro machen Diehlmann und seine Mitmusiker auf „Long Way To Go“ Arbeitstitel "Redemption" deutlich: Eine Erlösung wird es im positiven Sinn während der nächsten zehn Songs nicht geben. Der Hörer wird in den folgenden rund 40 Minuten gefesselt sein und über alle Songs in der Hand der Andreas Diehlmann Band bleiben.

Manchmal kommt die Band scheinbar konventionell daher. „Pretty Baby“ ist eine gradlinige Boogie-Nummer. Doch was sich zunächst beliebig anhört, ist das in keinem Fall, denn die Band spielt auch bei diesen Nummern groß auf, ist zupackend und bringt es einfach auf den Punkt. Auf „Bad Luck“ unterstützt Hammond-Organist Tom Bornemann die Band, die als Quartett bestes relaxtes, aber druckvolles Southern-Rock-Feeling erzeugt. Passend dazu, wie auch bei allen anderen Nummern, Diehlmanns Reibeisenstimme.

Gradlinig und vorwärtstreibend sind Nummern wie „Way To Hell“ und „Wedding Dress“, die auch locker Hits des texanischen Trios mit den langen Bärten sein könnten. Auch hier erweist sich die Band nicht als billige Kopie, sondern als ebenbürtig.

Großes, emotionales Kino bietet „Broken“, eine klassische Blues-Rock-Ballade, bei der Bornemann mit der B3 einen Klangteppich webt, auf dem Diehlmann mit einem atemberaubenden Solo abhebt. Das Resultat, eine Nummer mit Gänsehaut-Potential.

Bezaubernd, der klassische Slow-Blues „Baby It’s Gonna Rain All Night“, bei dem Diehlmann über den warmen Hammond-B3 Klangteppich wunderbare Blue Notes spielt und auch Tom Bornemann sein ganzes Können mit einem Solo zeigt. Ja, man hat auch so etwas schon gehört, aber auch selten so gut wie hier! (Uwe Meyer)

Andreas Diehlmann - Vocals/Guitars

Tom Bonn - Drums

Jörg Sebald - Bass

Tom Bornemann - Organ

Gesamtspieldauer 39:11

bottom of page